Early 2007: The Temporary Hey! Say! 7

During a KAT-TUN spring concert on April 3, 2007, Johnny’s Juniors Yuya TakakiDaiki Arioka,Ryosuke YamadaYuto Nakajima and Yuri Chinen were named to be part of a new group called Hey! Say! 7. Initially, the temporary status of the group was unclear, worrying a lot of fans of Johnny Jr’s group J.J. Express as it could mean that the group was splitting up and that Yuto NakajimaYuya Takaki and Daiki Arioka would permanently be in this group instead.

On June 16, 2007, it was announced that Hey! Say! 7 would release “Hey! Say!” as a single on August 1, 2007. While the A-side “Hey! Say!” was used as the second opening song for theanime Lovely Complex, the single’s B-side “Bon Bon” was used as the second ending song for the same anime. The single went on to sell 120,520 copies in its first week, making the group the youngest male group to top the Oricon singles chart.

Late 2007: Debut of Hey! Say! JUMP to present

On September 24, 2007, Johnny & Associates announced the formation of Hey! Say! JUMP, the agency’s largest Johnny’s group in history. The five members of Hey! Say! 7 were joined by Johnny’s Jrs Kota YabuKei InooHikaru YaotomeKeito Okamoto and Ryutaro Morimoto, and the ten-member group was split into two subgroups of five based on age. It was also announced that they would make their CD debut on November 14, 2007 with “Ultra Music Power”, which was used as Japan’s Volleyball World Cup Relay 2007 theme song.

On December 22, 2007, Hey! Say! JUMP held their debut concert “Hey! Say! JUMP Debut & First Concert Ikinari! in Tokyo Dome”. They became the youngest group ever to perform in Tokyo Dome with the average age of 15.7 years old.


On April 30, they released their first ever concert DVD Hey! Say! JUMP Debut & First Concert Ikinari! in Tokyo Dome. The group released their second single Dreams Come True on May 21, which topped the Oricon Chart. In July 2008 it was announced that the group’s third new single “Your Seed” would be used as the image song for Japanese release of the animated film Kung-Fu Panda.In October 2008, the group released their fourth single “Mayonaka no Shadow Boy“, which was used as the theme song for the drama Scrap Teacher starring members YamadaNakajimaArioka and Chinen.


Hey! Say! JUMP released their second DVD Concert Hey! Say! Jump-ing Tour ’08-’09 on April 29, 2009.

On February 24, 2010, the group released their fifth single “Hitomi no Screen“, which topped the Oricon weekly single charts with 202,000 copies. Hey! Say! JUMP released their first album titled Jump No. 1 on July 7, 2010.

On December 15, 2010, the group released a new single with the name of “Arigatō (Sekai no Doko ni Ite mo)“. It reached number one on theOricon singles chart and sold 64,206 albums on its first day.


Hey! Say! JUMP and other Johnny’s Juniors are currently starring in a new variety show called “Yan Yan JUMP”. The show started on April, 16, 2011. It begins at 6:30 JST every Saturday. “Yan Yan JUMP” is an entertainment show that combines “SPORTS”, “GAME” and “LIVE”. The name and theme of the show is based on “Yan Yan Utau Studio,” a program that aired roughly 20 years ago, featuring some of the senior Johnny’s members.

On June 28, 2011, photos of Morimoto smoking underage were leaked onto the Internet. The following day, in response to the scandal, Johnny’s Entertainment issued a statement of apology and planned to suspend Morimoto from all of his activities indefinitely. Following the removal of Morimoto’s profile from the official Johnny & Associates website, Johnny Kitagawa himself made an official announcement on the issue. He stated that Morimoto now has ambitions to focus on studying and denied any possibility of him returning soon.

On June 29, 2011, the group released a new single with the name of “OVER“. It peaked at number one on the Oricon singles chart on its first day with 113,554 sales. This has made it Hey! Say! JUMP’s highest selling single since ‘Ultra Music Power’ as their debut song back in 2007.

On September 21, 2011, they released their 8th single, “Magic Power”. This was their first solo without Morimoto, due to the aforementioned smoking scandal and suspension. “Magic Power” was used as the theme for the Japanese dub of the 3D movie “The Smurfs”.


On January 2, it was announced that the group will be holding their first Asian tour from March to June. The series of concerts will be held in five different countries, TaiwanHong KongThailandSouth Korea and their own country, Japan. It was also announced that they will be releasing their first single of the year and ninth in all, on February 22, titled SUPER DELICATE.